Goethe’s Singspiel, ‘Claudine von Villa Bella’

Edited by : Lorraine Byrne & Dan Farrelly

Publication Date 23rd, May, 2003

ISBN 0-9544290-0-1

Cost €15.00

Goethe’s Singspiel in three acts was set to music by Schubert in 1815 after a period in which his engagement with Goethe’s Faust had given rise to his first masterpiece and a flood of Goethe settings. Only Act One of Schuberts’s Claudine score is extant, since Act Two and Act Three were largely destroyed – reputedly burnt as fuel by Joseph Huttenbrenner’s servants during the revolution in 1848.

The present volume makes Act One available for performance in English and German.It comprises both a piano reduction by Lorraine Byrne of the original Schubert orchestral score and a bilingual text.The latter is based on Goethe’s 1788 version and has been translated for the modern stage by Dan Farrelly. This is a tale, wittily told, of lovers and vagabonds, romance, reconciliation, and resolution of family conflict.